quinta-feira, 17 de dezembro de 2009

The Sabbats

Sabbats are seasonal festivals which mark key points in the natural year, because paganism is a Nature-Oriented Religion and Craft, witches celebrate and get in tune with the natural aspects of the seasons, either their agricultural, pastoral, botanical, solar, lunar, wildlife, planetary, psychic, the tides and cycles. Bealtaine, Lughnasadh, Samhain and Imbolg are the "greater Sabbats", sometimes called "Fire Festivals", and the Equinoxes and Solstices are the "Lesser Sabbats", not because they are less important in any way, but because they mark the turning of the seasons.

Dates are not the same for South hemisphere and North hemisphere, so I'll add the dates for both hemispheres:

Samhain(Halloween, All Hallows Eve)
SH: 1st May
NH- 31st October

Yule (Winter Solstice)
SH:21st/22nd June
NH:21st/22nd December

Imbolg (Candlemas, Imbolc)
SH: 1st August
NH: 2nd February

Ostara (Spring Equinox)
SH: 20th September
NH: 20st/21st March

Beltane (Bealtaine, May Eve)
SH: 31st October
NH: 1st May

Litha (Midsummer, Summer Solstice)
SH: 21st December
NH: 20st/21st July

Lughnasadh (Lammas)
SH: 2nd February
NH: 1st August

Mabon (Autumn Equinox)
SH: 20th March
NH: 20st/21st September

SH - South Hemisphere
NH - North Hemisphere

Note that dates for Equinoxes or Solstices may vary, while Greater Sabbats tend to involve both the "eve" and the following "day".

Sem comentários:

Enviar um comentário